Everyone makes a traffic mistake from time to time. And sometimes those mistakes result in a ticket, which may lead to points added to your Pennsylvania driving record. When you receive a traffic violation and are found guilty, points are assigned to your license. These points are obviously not a good thing. The numbers of points you receive depends on the traffic violation and the severity of the offense. If you get enough points, it can lead to your driver’s license revocation or suspension. Driving violation points can also increase what you pay for you auto insurance. This can become a problem when it’s time to pay for your car insurance, because if insurance companies believe you are an unsafe driver, they will charge you high rates for your car insurance. This may force you to settle for a minimal insurance policy, instead of good car insurance recommended by Car Insurance Lawyers.
How do drivers license points work with moving violations in PA?
A moving violation occurs whenever a vehicle in motion violates a traffic law. The state of Pennsylvania operates on a point system, in which drivers accumulate points on their license for every cited traffic violation. License restrictions and fines vary according to how many and how often you accumulate points. If you exceed 6 points, you must complete a printed examination on traffic safety. If you do not pass this test within 30 days, your license will be suspended until you do successfully pass the test. After the successful completion of the test, your points total will be reduced to 2. If you receive a separate violation and exceed 6 points again, you must attend a Pennsylvania Department of Transportation hearing. If you do not attend the hearing your license will be automatically suspended for 60 days. Failure to attend the hearing results in a mandatory 60-day suspension. At the hearing, your driving record will be examined. Based on the decision of the examiner, your license will be suspended for 15 days and you must pass an on-road driving test. If you pass this test within 30 days you will have your driving record reduced by 2 points. A mandatory DOT hearing will be issued for anyone who surpasses 6 points, over 3 times. If you do not attend the hearing, your license will be suspended. If you exceed 10 points, your license will be immediately suspended. Your prior suspension record will determine the suspension period.
Will I get points for a speeding ticket outside of Pennsylvania?
In 45 of the 50 United States, your violation will be known by your state, even if the ticket is not in the state in which you reside. Pennsylvania is one of 45 states that is a member of the Driver License Compact (DLC). The DLC has a reciprocal agreement that requires them to share information on convictions for moving violations and other convictions. Most states assign points for out-of-state violations, however Pennsylvania does not record the violation if it is considered a minor offense, like a speeding ticket. Penn DOT’s PENNSYLVANIA POINT SYSTEM FACT SHEET provides a detailed list of points issued for violations. Below are examples of Pennsylvania driving violations and points imposed:
Points Imposed for Pennsylvania Traffic Violations
|6 to 10 MPH over the limit||2|
|11 to 15 MPH over the limit||3|
|16-25 MPH over the limit||4|
|26 to 30 MPH over the limit||5|
|Speeding 31+ MPH over the limit: 5 (department appearance required)||5|
|Failure to Stop for a Red Light/Stop Sign/Yield Sign||3|
|Improper Turning Around||3|
|Failure to Stop for a School Bus||2|
How can I see how many points are I have on my driver’s license?
You have two options. You can apply for a certified drivers license history by mailing in the “Request for Driver Information” form, or you and request the records in person.
How long does it take to get points off your license in PA?
Points remain on your license for four or five years for minor offenses. Points that result in driver’s license suspension or revocation will remain for 7 or years. Every 12 months, 3 points are removed from a driver’s license that is not suspended or revoked. When you have remained point free for 12 months, your slate is clear. A subsequent offense would be then considered a first offense.
How much is a speeding ticket in Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania speeding tickets are uniformly priced throughout the state. It doesn’t matter if you’re caught in Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, or Scranton, you’ll pay the same fine for the same speeding offense. The cost of the fine depends on your speed. The faster you are caught driving over the speed limit, the higher the fine. In addition to the standard fine for a Pennsylvania speeding ticket, you may also be charged extra fees, which may range from $45 for a first offense and as much as $450 for a fourth offense. There may also be other additional fees, depending on the violation.
The following is a general guideline of speeding ticket fines in Pennsylvania:
Traveling 10 mph over the speed limit $45 fine
Traveling 20 mph over the speed limit $ 65 fine
Traveling 30 mph over the speed limit $ 85 fine
Traveling 35 mph over the speed limit $ 95 fine
Penn DOT’s Pennsylvania Vehicle Code Safety Violations provides more information in a detailed breakdown of child passenger safety laws, DUI laws, and speeding fines.
What happens if you are caught driving under the influence?
Your Pennsylvania driver’s license will be suspended if you are found guilty of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The length of your suspension will depend on the degree of intoxication and your previous driving record. General impairment, high blood alcohol count (BAC), and highest blood alcohol count (BAC) are the 3 degrees of intoxication in Pennsylvania. The fines and the length of your suspension will depend on your level of intoxication.
When is it against the law to leave the scene of an accident?
Leaving the scene of an accident in Pennsylvania, commonly referred to as a “hit and run,” is a punishable offense. You are required to stop and stay at the scene of any accident in which you are involved that has property damage or a physical injury. A summary offense of leaving the scene of an accident with unattended property is non-criminal and carries a fine of up to $300 and 90 days in jail. These hit and run offenses (75 Pa.C.S. $3745) typically involve vehicles with no one in it.
Leaving the scene of an accident when there is an injury is a first-degree misdemeanor. If you leave the scene of an accident involving serious injury, it is a third degree felony with a minimum of 90 days in jail, and if you leave the scene of an accident where there is a fatality, the punishment is a minimum of 1 year in jail. Hit and run drivers will also receive a driving suspension.
Can I sue if I was injured in an accident but got a ticket?
A personal injury lawsuit can be difficult if you were the driver and injured in a car accident and given a ticket. However, it is possible to overcome the obstacle. Pennsylvania is a comparative negligence state. Therefore, if it is determined that you are less than 50 percent responsible for the accident, you may still recover for your injury. In this case, you should contact an experienced Philadelphia car accident lawyer immediately to help you prove your comparative liability is less than 50 percent.
Can I sue if I was a passenger injured in a car accident, but the driver of the car I was in was at fault?
If you were a passenger, regardless of which driver was at fault, you can sue for your injuries. This is true even if you were in the car of a driver who was completely at-fault.
Fox Law Philly.com
If you would like to discuss an auto accident injury claim, contact Fox Law today for a free consultation. In your consultation, your questions will be answered with no obligation. Fox Law makes a recovery for you or it’s free.